The Autistic Mind Finally Speaks

Letterboard Thoughts by Gregory Tino

Follow Up To The Conference

Published by

on

Can you imagine not being able to speak for 24 years and then you are asked to present at a conference? Being the keynote speaker last Saturday gave me such a thrill!

Yes, I was nervous, but my family talked me through it.

Yes, autism and I thought my body was going to betray me, but it didn’t.

Yes, I thought people weren’t going to believe in me, but they did.

It is quite an honor to be given a stage that will be broadcast to so many and could possibly affect the future of other nonspeaking autistics. I don’t take this job lightly!

Talking about a job…..my mom now has another one….being my communication partner for all of these events! This is not easy because she has two other kids in addition to me. Yes, autism and I think she is the best mom in the world! To me we are an amazing team that can do anything together when we put our mind to it!

Talking about my mom, I have to say something. Without her help, none of this would be happening! She and I want to help other people with autism. Talk to other autistics that you know and tell them my story.

Autism and I thank you for your help!

3 responses to “Follow Up To The Conference”

  1. Sandra White Avatar

    Gregory, I can’t imagine how it felt for you and your Mother to show the folks at the conference how you found a way to communicate. Congratulations that you were able to pull it off. God bless you for wanting to use this new found talent to help other non-verbals learn to communicate in this unique way. I can’t imagine how proud your family must be for you having the courage to do the conference. I have a question, is there a video of it? I would love to show it to my niece whose youngest son is nearly non verbal. Again, congrats and keep up the great work.

    Like

    1. tinogr21 Avatar

      It was not taped but I have the video I wrote and showed during the conference on YouTube. Here is the link. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4k3uFAwQiDk

      Like

  2. Colleen F Avatar
    Colleen F

    Gregory – you and your Mom knocked your presentation out of the park. Sitting and watching the two of you was remarkable. The Foti Squad is so, so proud of you, your Mom & the Tino crew. We may have to grab a Hockey Game to celebrate!

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started